Valentine’s Day idea

For those of us that do not have someone to give something to or receive something from this Valentine’s Day, I encourage sending Random Gifts of Love.  When I moved to NYC I decided that it would be really nice to keep in touch with people through post cards, cards and letters. This past Christmas was the first time I had ever sent out Christmas cards. Yes, I know, I’m 27, I probably should have done that long before. Nevertheless, the feeling I had of pure joy and excitement knowing that my recipient would soon be opening their surprise was quite lovely. I couldn’t help but giggle with joy. I believe that doing something nice for someone else is incredibly rewarding. Especially when they are least expecting it. So, this Valentine’s Day, consider sending something special to a friend, a loved one, an acquaintance or even a stranger, maybe your barista or the shut-in down the road.  It doesn’t have to be much – a postcard or even some homemade cookies will do nicely. Sometimes, words of encouragement and love can really help someone through a tough season.

Each of you should give what you have decided in your heart to give, not reluctantly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver.      2 Corinthians 9:7 (NIV)

I can’t wait to see what you come up with! Take a picture and send it to me on here or on Instagram with #RandomGiftsofLove, @beckybaker6.

Leave a Reply

