Sweet Potato Turkey Chili

IMAG1264

Someday I will have a nice camera and be able to take nice photos of my food. Until then, I will have crappy pictures of yummy food and you’ll just have to believe me!

 

Holy hearty meal!! I had never made chili before so this was an adventure for me. I thought it was going to be a long, tedious process, but it was actually pretty easy. The hardest part was finding a recipe that I liked. I ended up just varying one a little bit to make my own version. So here is what’s happening:

1 yellow onion
1 large or 3 small sweet potatoes, peeled and cubed
3 cloves of garlic, minced
1 can of black beans
1 can of red kidney beans
1 large can of crushed tomatoes
1 can of diced tomatoes
1 package of frozen red and green peppers
1 lb of ground turkey
1 bayleaf
3/4 tsp of cumin
1/2 tsp of oregano
1/8 tsp of salt
1/2 tsp of coarse black pepper
2 tbsp chili powder
1/2 red pepper (or cayenne)
1 cup of water

I used a slow cooker for this recipe but, you can absolutely make this on the stove.

Add all vegetables and beans into the pot first. The black ones I put the liquid in, the kidney beans I drained and rinsed first.
Then add your turkey, water and spices. I forgot my turkey, so I ended up cooking it and adding it after the chili was done cooking. Either way works.
I cooked my chili on high for four hours. If you want to, cook it on low for eight hours.
Once finished, stir and let sit for a little bit. Or don’t. I didn’t. I ate it right away. I was just too excited!!

Enjoy!!

Sweet potato turkey chili original recipe from: heandsheeatclean.com

Leave a Reply

